Skip to content

dudes, get your junk toether

January 6, 2010

Tonight I had to pick up a couple prescriptions, a new painkiller for my knee (I fell on it, slipped on ice) and a refill for a regular med.

I had just run out of the regular pills this morning, and I just saw the orthopedist about the knee this afternoon and had my written script in hand. Went to the drive through to drop them off, went for dinner with Liz and went back about 45 minutes later to the drive through.

The woman who answered at the window told me that my regular med could not be refilled because it was too early. I told her that I had just finished the bottle and had none for the morning, so of course it was not too early. She said “hold on” walked away and didn’t come back for several minutes. Meanwhile we are sitting in my running car. When she came back she said that it could be refilled, but there was a problem with my new prescription and it would be a little while before it was ready. I asked if it was going to be long enough that I should shut off my car. She just said again that it would “be a few minutes.” I told her we would come back in like 15, she seemed to be relieved that I had said that.

So we left and went across the street to Starbucks so that I could use my Starbucks gold card one last time, today was the last day of the membership program and I wanted to make one last purchase with the 10% discount. I bought three boxes of the VIA instant coffee, I like to have it at my desk. There is no coffee maker in the office, and even if there was, only the Keurig is good enough for my taste in the office. There is a coffee place in the building, and they “proudly brew Starbucks coffee” but I had a cup when I first started and I still feel my face making an “uck” whenever someone asks me if I want to go downstairs for coffee.

So anyway, then we went back to the pharmacy and I was now told that the new drug was not on my insurance company’s formulary. I knew this could not be right because it is a non-narcotic generic painkiller, certanly not the cadillac of new-and-improved fancypants brand name type deals. I said “what?? How much will just a few cost?” she didn’t even answer my question, she just walked away and when she came back she said that it was covered, so the 35 pills would cost me $16 instead of the full price $19.

Now that I think about it, I hope my knee doesn’t hurt this bad for long enough to need 35 pills. I should have just had half the prescription filled.

So then the woman started to ring me up, but she stopped very suddenly, and I figured this could not be good. She told me that she could not give me the new pills because I am allergic to opiates—–to which I replied “No I’m not.” Because I’m not. She then said that I was. I said again that I’m not and she said (yet once again) “hold on.” Then she asked if I was allergic to any medications or had any “conditions.” I told her “I might have an anger managment problem, does that count?” We both had a good laugh over that, and She then procceded to sell me my prescriptions and I drove away in dire need of more serious medications than had been dispensed to me.

Dude, I have been using this pharmacy for all of my pill needs for more than three years and nothing like this has ever happened before.

Liz pulled out her cell phone to tweet this little experiance before we pulled out of the parking lot. I told Liz to stop stealing my tweets.

Oh, and my sister, who is a nurse, told me that the pills I got are not even an opiate, and could not cause a reaction even if I was allergic. Huh.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 2:32 pm

    A drive-thru pharmacy? Well I never. That’s a new one for me!

  2. January 7, 2010 11:51 pm

    Yeah, just pull in to drop it off, run errands and pull right up to get it at the window. We also have drive through banks, drive through starbucks. I read about a drive through dairy mart in Florida where you can pull up to buy milk and other dairy products. Las Vegas has drive through wedding chapels, and seporatly, divorce lawyers with drive throughs. I get my oil changed at a place that is more like a drive in than a drive through, but you bring your car eight up to the service station they change the oil, vacuum the inside, change the wipers if you want and top off the fluids, then pull it out the other side. You pay while it is getting done and then leave through the other side, takes less than ten minutes and they give you bags of chips, soda, water or coffee while you wait. The US is a wack, wacky place.

  3. January 8, 2010 8:44 am

    Well. We have drive thru McDonalds.

    That’s about it.

Leave a Reply

