Skip to content

the big three-zero

July 31, 2008

today is my birthday, i’m 30. i have been looking forward to this day since i was 12 or so, so 30 had better be the best year of my life.

i wish i could say that my birthday has been great . . . and parts of it have been, but i have a rough time with any day that involves speaking to my mother. she gave me a great gift, exactly what i would have asked for myself . . . but the girl had to tell her what to get me. on top of that is the aching feeling that she did not get me a nice gift so that she could make me feel good, but so that she could make herself feel good. so that she could tell me what a “great mother” she is.

i recently read this book:

it was downright creepy how spot-on the descriptions and examples are to my own experience.

apart from the issues with the mother unit, i feel that 30 is going to be a great year for me, and everything is really looking up. i have a decent job, a nice home, great friends and a fantastic wife.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2008 10:02 pm

    Happy birthday! It will be great. I can feel it already 🙂

  2. August 1, 2008 3:27 am

    Happy birthday (again)! Keep the positive thinking going and it will be the best year of your life!

  3. Abbey permalink
    August 1, 2008 7:30 pm

    I hope that you do have a great year! I can’t believe that you were actually looking forward to it. I dreaded mine.

Leave a Reply

