Skip to content

birthday

July 9, 2008

my mother’s birthday was this past weekend, so guess what that means?

that’s right!  funny story!

so i call my mother and this a how the conversation goes:

me: hi, happy big 6-0.

her: no, 5-9.

me: oh come on, just embrace it.

her: no, i am 59. (she says in an annoyed tone)

me: no 60.

her: 59.

me: you know, usually one would want to stop at 39, not 59.

her:  i was born in 1949.  i am 59.

me: um . . . oh.  what?

the conversation continues.  yes, in fact my mother is 59 and not 60.  and now she is a pissed 59 year-old.

there’s more . . . my sister called me at work today to tell me that my mother called her last night.  here is how that conversation went:

her:  how old am i?

sis: 58.

her: no, i am not 58!

sis: how old are you then?

her: 59!!  your sister said i was 60!!!

all i have to say about that is at least my sister got it wrong too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 4:03 pm

    Don’t feel bad. My sister and I often cofuse my mother’s age as well. Usually I think she’s the age of a tantrum-throwing toddler and my sister thinks she’s the age of a senile old bat. But we do love her….

  2. July 12, 2008 4:23 am

    That is so very funny!!! I have a bit more luck remembering my Mum’s age because she born December 1950 – the “50” helps a lot!!! So right now she is 57 – will be 58 in December. Dad, I have more trouble with cos he was born January 1949, so he must be either 58 or 59 – even with the dates in front of me, I still have trouble!!!

  3. July 19, 2008 9:10 pm

    Yeah, but your sister’s wrong was less wrong than your wrong! Always guess down!

  4. July 22, 2008 10:46 pm

    This is hysterical! An “oops” moment for the both of you. I had to remind my mother she was 65, and she said something like, “THAT CAN’T be right.” The real question: how old is she in her heart? (My mom is about 16.)

Leave a Reply

