Skip to content

nasty acne and finally something that works (for me)

June 15, 2008

i have had acne since elementary school, at times it’s been pretty bad and sometimes it has not been too bad at all. when i was in high school my mother brought me to a dermatologist who gave me antibiotics and a few different tubes of junk (most of which stung and/or smelled bad and didn’t really work). i did not want to bother with this dermatologist anymore, and my mother would tell me that i would have to go and use the prescriptions because she was embarrassed to go out into public with me (yes, she is an asshole). i never thought it was all that bad, and i felt like i would grow out of it eventually, it didn’t really bother me. besides, i saw lots of people who had it much worse.

as i have gone through my twenties the acne has not gone away. i have used plenty of drugstore acne treatment items, without much result. a couple years ago i found a website: acne.org. the simple method explained on this site was the first thing that ever worked for me. even thought i got sick of using benzoyl peroxide and stopped the method, i still think that it is a really good thing.

when i started my current job i started to see the esthetician who works out of the same building as my office.  when i started having facials she used this skin peel called “z-peel” which is fantastic, and she is now using and offering “mama lotion” to her clients.  i love it, my acne is almost gone except for a couple blemishes i get when i have a pms breakout.  this morning i found that acne.org has mama lotion reviews, clearly it doesn’t work for everyone, but it’s the best thing i’ve ever used.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2008 8:44 am

    Hey girl. I have the same problem as you. I’m 38 and still have problems. So much for growing out of it. While I’m loyal to Dermalogica (due to my job,) I have found that Coalface by Lush is pretty damn good. Have you ever tried it? It gets awesome reviews on the Lush site.

  2. July 4, 2008 10:22 am

    That sounds good to me!! I always seem to have a couple of spots here and there and they bug me seeing as I am now in my 30s!! I wonder if I can get that in the UK!

    (visiting via AllMediocre!)

Leave a Reply

