Skip to content

me and yoga

February 24, 2008

i have had a rocky relationship with yoga since college.  it’s like this: i know yoga is good for me, yoga gives me physical and metal balance that i can really see and feel for days after i practice.  yet i just can’t seem to practice daily.  i haven’t even unrolled my mat this month, and there are only a few days left until march.

i think about joining a class or a group, but it seems like the time is just not there.  i have a great set of simple dvd’s, and still i always feel like there is something more pressing.  i need to rest, or work, or clean the house, or sleep in, or spend quality time with liz.  the worst part of it is that none of this is a blatant excuse, whenever i put off yoga i am involved in something else that seems to take precedence.  like blogging.  i could  be practicing yoga right now, but this outlet in which i document my inner-workings for myself and other people (for whatever reason they may feel compelled to read) seems important enough to put before my yoga practice.  even if i gave up this measly space on the internet it would only afford me maybe an hour a week, at the very most.

today i have a little cold.  sore throat, runny/stuffy nose, headache, tiredness.  curling up on the couch with a couple videos and some tea may be my best option, but should i pull out the mat and spend 40 or 30 minutes just to make an effort anyway?  maybe i should, even if it’s for no other reason than attempting to get back into the habit, because just going through the motions can spark intention.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2008 1:30 pm

    Maybe just pull out the mat and stand for a few minutes. See if you feel like moving. You might be surprised.

  2. jvalways permalink*
    February 24, 2008 1:33 pm

    mat is out. i’m still at the computer though . . .

  3. liz permalink
    February 25, 2008 12:20 pm

    I really do want us to get into yoga together.
    Or go out walking…something that we do at least on Saturdays. Possibly even Friday nights?
    The only thing I don’t like about yoga is that I can hear my knees crunch when I do it. Scary.

  4. jvalways permalink*
    February 25, 2008 6:33 pm

    my knees always crunch, but you know that already.

Leave a Reply

