Skip to content

just me

December 5, 2007

i know i am lucky to have felt pain in my life, and had the ability to overcome.  i have felt discrimination; i feel nothing but empathy for people who are faced with discrimination of any sort. my comfortable journey on this earth is possible because of the excruciating journeys of millions upon millions who have come before me.

i have lived a largely christian life, as do most in the western world, but my heart is buddhist. this excerpt from the pali canon i read years ago keeps coming back to me, over and over, as i walk through my life:

Let all beings be happy! Weak or strong, of high, middle or low estate,

small or great, visible or invisible, near or far away,

alive or still to be born–may they all be entirely happy.

Let nobody lie to anybody or despise any single being anywhere.

May nobody wish harm to any single creature, out of anger or hatred.

Let us cherish all creatures, as a mother her only child.

May our loving thoughts fill the whole world, above, below, across–without limit; a boundless goodwill toward the whole world, unrestricted, free of hatred and enmity.

so, here i am, just me. the only way i can make peace with this world is to make peace all around me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

