Skip to content

well, now i feel like an ass . . .

October 26, 2007

i commented on this post.  i saw the post on the wordpress dashboard, and i took a little looksey because it caught my eye.  low and behold it was a post linking to the the bbc news website with this headline: schoolgirls in britain will be vaccinated against the virus that causes cervical cancer from september 2008, ministers have announced.

merk has waisted plenty of time lobbying the u.s. government to make gardasil unnecessarily mandatory, i had no idea that they had lobbied the u.k. government also (i guess i should not be surprised).  as if merk is not stuffing their pockets with enough cash from all the hype they have produced with tv commercials and magazine ads, they have to get entire governments to mandate that girls receive this risky and unnecessary vaccine.

 here comes the ass part: the author of the blog i commented on has cin3.   a dangerous condition that is painful to treat.  gardasil may have or may not have saved this young woman from suffering.

i fell bad for upsetting this person, who has plenty of upset in her life dealing with this illness, but i still believe that gardasil is not so great.

to bluesoup, if you read this, i hope you get well soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2007 9:09 am

    hi jvalways. Just wanted to say thanks for the wellness wishes. I do understand your concerns about the vaccine and apologies if it seemed like I was “chasing” you off my blog. I am pretty emotional at the moment and scared about my future so I am sorry I pounced on your opinion so ferociously. I do personally feel that I would have benefitted from the vaccine. I am aware of the arguments against; I just choose to be in favour. It is a highly subjective debate and opinions vary greatly. I just wanted to say I respect your opinion and your comments were interesting and thought-provoking. I still would have had the vaccine, had I had the chance, and my parents would have consented for me to have the jab as well simply to avoid the pain and stress that me, my family and my close friends are going through.

    Best wishes, Blue.

  2. jvalways permalink*
    October 29, 2007 10:48 am

    no hard feelings. people in the u.s. see the ads and just want to get the vaccine without giving it any thought. i am just very interested in women’s health issues and learning about all different opinions and options. i didn’t think that my comment would start a debate. i regret that i did not take a deeper look at your site to find the reason for your post.

    not to push the issue . . . but just to give you some hope: hpv and the cervical abnormalities caused by the virus contracted before age 20 tends to clear and resolve on its own with or without treatment, and never develop into cancer.

    best of luck with your treatment, i see the pain and worry you must be feeling everyday at work.
    if you have no objection i may follow your experiences, but i will also respect your objections as the blog is your space.

  3. October 30, 2007 9:17 am

    By all means do pop by. And don’t feel that you can’t comment or anything, you are as welcome on my blog as the next person is 🙂

    Thanks for the reassurance.

Leave a Reply

