Skip to content

the state of my blog . . .

October 21, 2007

much like the state of my diet, has some ups and downs.

i am very curious, who is reading my blog regularly? anyone???

today i am going to ditch the “ask the coder” page because apparently no medical coders know that it exists.

also, i was thinking about getting rid of the “people i work with page,” but i will keep it up a little longer because i like to vent about work, and on the off chance someone actually reads those posts it might be nice to know who is who in my workplace.

since liz got a hot new camera for her birthday i am going to start posting more pictures. the other pictures i have up were taken on my eos and scanned, or on my 1.3 mega pixel camera phone.

if you are checking up on my blog regularly please comment or e-mail me and let me know what you like or don’t like to read here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2007 6:12 am

    Hi

    I have started to read your blog from time to time. I found it when I was searching for bloggers (I hate that word) who had commented on the Benazir Bhutto bomb and came across “Stranger’s Words” You’re kind comment to the Pakistani author made me want to find out more about you so I went to your blog. I find it to be open, honest and interesting (50 things) so I have come back.

    What you write about could not be more different from what I cover, but that is what this is all about: an opportunity to be yourself and to share your experiences and thoughts. We are offering different people an insight.

    Let me tell you a little about my blogging experience in case it generates some ideas you could use.

    I have been blogging for about four months and my intention has been to provide myself with an outlet for my ideas about the political world. Even if none read it, it has succeeded in making me more thoughtful , in taking reading more seriously and getting a lot more out of what is going on around me.

    I write fairly long pieces, about 1500 words and I work quite hard at them, but it is a labour of love.

    I get 20 to 30 visitors per day and most find me through Google. I often get on the first search page. I guess the reason for my success on Google is that I use lots of key words in my text. What is most gratifying is that I seem to get a number of return visitors and every now and then I get someone who takes a really long time and has a good look around. I am too mean to pay for a log of more than 500 (free on Statcounter) so I do not have much information about visitors in the long term.

    I am not news driven in my subjects but if a news story breaks that is relevant to something I have written about I go and post comments on other blogs which are relevant. This usually generates a flurry of activity, particularly if the blogs are popular.

    My big disappointment is that I get few comments. I have had one debate but that really is all.

    I also find it hard to understand how Technocrati Dig and so on are meant to work and have failed to integrate myself into any networks.

    So there you are. I enjoy what you write. Your analysis of doctor surgery costs was particularly interesting. Thank you.

    Just couple more facts about me

    13 I am a terrier: once I grab onto something I hold on tight

    14 I lack discipline so I find it hard to be consistent in following things through – projects are my strength routines are my weakness

  2. jvalways permalink*
    October 25, 2007 5:23 pm

    i am very interested in foreign politics, particularly mid-east, but following these subjects is so time consuming in itself that i am amazed anyone has the motivation and the time to blog about these things.

    i am very interested in world religions, i have a degree in religious studies, and i enjoy reading about abrahamic traditions and eastern thought.

    your comment is lengthier than most of my posts and i really appreciate the input. thanks.

  3. jvalways permalink*
    October 25, 2007 5:27 pm

    p.s. technorati is overloaded and hard to use, your site has to be super-popular to benefit. i guess it works best if you run ads on your page. blah.

Leave a Reply

