Skip to content

better eating.

September 8, 2007

i am tired of being overweight. it’s hard for me to admit, but i have really let myself go, having been thin right up until college i am not sure haw this has happened.

sure, i like to (ok, love to) eat, but i eat healthy 95% of the time. maybe it’s that 5% that keeps feeding my waistline . . .

i never touch fast food. just the idea of a hamburger makes me ill, the thought of ground meat makes me nauseous, seeing “mechanically separated” meat on a list of ingredients will make me drop a package fast.  i avoid corn syrup and high-fructose corn syrup like the plague.  my dairy intake is limited to low-fat yogurt and small amounts of cheese and butter.  when i cook with a fat it’s usually extra-virgin olive oil. i eat plenty of fiber.  i eat organic and natural as much as possible.  i am trying to increase my fruit and veggie intake.

potato chips are my downfall, and even when i eat this type of food i stick with natural and organic, i figure if i am going to eat junk it had mind as well be real.  i love french fries, i have been trying to stop this craving with sliced sweet potatoes with olive oil and salt either in the oven or on the grill, it pretty much hits the spot.

my largest problem is getting exercise, the only way to get enough exercise to help me loose all this weight would be to park a stationary bike at my desk at work.  it seems the heavier i get the less i am motivated to get exercise, my best excuse is that it is either too hot or too cold to go for a walk outside.

but, i think i have hit rock-bottom.  my clothing doesn’t fit and i can’t afford more larger clothes, by blood pressure is always or the high side and i don’t want to be a diabetic like my mother.

i have a new goal: loose two pounds a week until christmas time.  if anyone out there has any good tips on staying motivated, please let me know.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

